Blog Post 8

This week’s blog post follows the trend of last weeks. To discuss our research process as it progresses. Unfortunately I have not been able to accomplish as much research as I would have like to have done. However I did accumulate about five sources for a computer lab session that I had emailed to me. Today I began going through one.  At first I thought that is was going to be a dead end. I could not remember exactly what the article was about and it was within a magazine.  I keep going through the articles though until I finally came across the article. It discussed how the Brown – Forman group created a website Our Thinking About Drinking. This website discusses multiple issues related to alcohol including drinking and driving, alcohol and health, over consumption, marketing, and youth and alcohol.  Being that my research question is about the drinking age, I clicked on the link youth and alcohol. This led to a main page discussing why this area of research was important with two sub sections; underage drinking, and the drinking age.  I began looking at the research that they had compiled for the drinking age and was immediately impressed. Not only do they analyze United States’ policies but other countries as well while comparing and contrasting.   The research shows that the average legal drinking age around the world is 18 years old and that the United States is in the higher range as well as Indonesia and Micronesia.  I also learned that in 2008 about 100 universities moved for the drinking age to be lowered to 18, due to the belief that the mixture of underage and of age students on campus fostered binge drinking.  The last bit of information that I would like to include is that they mentioned the Choose Responsibility organization.  This organization has the belief that the drinking age could be lowered as long as there was increased education tied to licensing, much like a drivers license.  This particular information really interested me because I have actually written an argument much like this in the past and was going to incorporate it into my final research paper.  Until next week!

Leave a Reply

